No I Am Not On Fucking Facebook – A not-so fond farewell

Posted: 12 April 2012 in life
Tags: , ,

No I am not on fucking FacebookActually the legend on my t-shirt says “NO I AM NOT ON F*!#ING FACEBOOK”. Apparently it’s considered more polite to use F*!#ING not FUCKING on an item that is on public display. But you get the gist.

By now, or at some point over the next few days, my Facebook profile will cease to exist. Expired. Deceased. Vanished. Deader than the infamous Norwegian Blue from Monty Python’s Flying Circus. Back in the halcyon days I used Facebook on an almost hourly basis. It had been the source of the happiest time ever in my existence. Nowadays it serves only as a reminder of stupidity, cowardice, manipulation, and viciousness. A monument to a year’s worth of painful circumstances and mental anguish. For which there will be a reckoning.

Postings appearing on my Facebook over recent months have been generated automatically from my blog. Anyone who is interested in these ramblings and musings can always come here directly. It’ll be interesting to see if that occurs.

Let’s be truthful with ourselves, Facebook has become one gigantic fuck-off mess. On the few occasions that I have mustered the courage to log in, the layout before me has radically altered from each previous visitation. Timelines are no longer there but there. Recent posts have disappeared up the arse of some pointless new tool that will doubtless vanish in a month after a barrage of complaints. Everything is all over the shop.

Frequently I comment that “Facebook is where you keep the friends that you don’t want to talk to and Twitter is where you make the friends where you want to talk to”.

Connecting on Facebook requires one to already be associated with the person you are befriending or to be part of an extended friendship. It’s rare you befriend a stranger – unless you are craving attention or furtherance of a personal agenda and send and accept random requests. No doubt we all know someone of that nature.

Twitter has benefited me in recent times thanks to its hashtag function. Especially useful have been #bipolar #unipolar #depression #mentalhealth #mhuk and the latest #BlackDogTriber.

It’s no exaggeration to say that over the last year Twitter has been a literal lifeline to me. Without the support of the Twitterverse 2011 would have seen my self-inflicted demise (hopefully in a spectacular manner and not a boring or mundane fashion) whilst swept up in a vista of unimaginable emotional pain. And 2012 continues to have its moments too…

Incredibly dark places of the inside have been visited and continue to be visited but the perceptive words of like-minded individuals generate the power to endure the horrors that mental illness can manifest. At the nadirs of madness the ability to seek a better day tomorrow has been given to me by individuals I have never met, and doubtless never will given the vast geographical distances involved. Over thousands of miles, from Canada to New Zealand, from America to Norway, I have been given support that has been absent from those supposed friends residing within a few miles.

Friendships are more important to me than family. The birthdays of those such as Caroline, Zoe, Ivet, Jessica, Carly, etc, are etched in the memory (and the iCal), whereas I couldn’t tell you the dates that aunts, uncles, cousins, and suchlike were sent screaming into this world if a gun was placed in close proximity to my cranium.

Social media can make great friendships happen but it makes friendship too easy to let slip. Instead of putting genuine effort into the maintenance of a personal connection with someone, you can simply post a message along the lines of “u ok?” every few weeks and feel that you have done enough.

So farewell to Facebook and all the pain connected to it. One day I may return…

Comments
  1. jadedheart says:

    Good for you! You are not alone in those who have abandoned facebook. Personally I think it’s become much too overrated.

Leave a Reply

