Back on fucking Facebook – a tentative hello again

Posted: 7 February 2013 in life
Tags: , ,

Back in April 2012 I bid a fond farewell to Facebook. I deleted my account and penned a blog post on the subject No I Am Not On Fucking Facebook – A not-so fond farewell.Included was the comment, “Facebook is where you keep the friends that you don’t want to talk to and Twitter is where you make the friends where you want to talk to”. I hold fast to the opinion that Facebook is a fucked-up social media monster but I think what partly prompted my return is the fact that any job I may get that involves direct marketing and social media is going to require a knowledge of Fucked-up-Book. So I need to keep myself appraised of the various aspects of this ailing leviathan of the internet. They’re going to sort out that bloody awful timeline thingy soon, right?

Plus I came to realise that I had lost touch with quite a few people that I once connected with. I never get around to emailing for some reason and they’re not on Twitter – a horrendous omission on their part I feel, but what can one do? Quite surprised to have reconnected with a couple of people quite quickly. I’ve managed to build some new and valuable friendships on Twitter so let’s see if with the help of Facebook I can resurrect a few of those that died off during the madness era of 2011 and 2012.

Leave a Reply

