I don’t suit suits

Posted: 14 February 2013 in life

This week I purchased a suit. I have not purchased a suit in the longest time. This is partly due to a) I don’t attend the kind of social outings that require a suit, and b) I loathe suits and any other form of supposedly smart dressing with a vengeance. Why the fuck are we expected to dress like uptight Victorians in certain situations? For me it’s the person’s abilities that count not what colour tie or so-called business suit they’ve decided to don that day.

In a previous job I had to wear and shirt and tie even though the only other people I saw on a daily basis were fellow employees. Why the fuck not just allow everyone to dress in casual wear such as jeans and t-shirts? The most laid back and productive days were Fridays as staff were permitted to wear mufti. To my mind relaxed employees make productive employees. Some of the most profitable and innovative companies in the world such as Apple and Google don’t give a crap what their employees wear and look how well they’re doing compared to the banking sector and other industries that are inhabited by corpse-like individuals in stiff necked shirts and the like.

Hopefully I will only need to don the suit for forthcoming interviews and then be able to work in clothing that renders me relaxed, productive and human.

Leave a Reply

