Archive for the ‘music’ Category

Louder Than Words. The final song from The Endless River – the final Pink Floyd album


Major Pink Floyd exhibition coming soon

Posted: 22 February 2014 in music

With the release of a teaser trailer the buildup to a major Pink Floyd exhibition has begun: The Pink Floyd Exhibition – Their Mortal Remains.  Keep an eye on

Wide-Eyed, the debut EP from NeverMind, delivers a quintet of diverse, vibrant and evocative tunes that make it my first must-listen and must-own musical collection of 2014.

Nevermind - Wide EyedBorn of electronica Wide-Eyed soars beyond the confines of any single musical genre due to the disparate musical tastes and multi-instrumental skills of band members Megan, Coco, Rio and Lexi. With lyrics ranging from the passionate to the heartbreaking, 2 Lines, Drinking Alone, Love You Know, Get Wrong and Heaven construct a soundtrack for love, relationships and life.

With airplay on BBC Radio 6, and 2 Lines as Radio 1’s Track of the Week for the week beginning 10 February 2014, NeverMind are justifiably garnering attention, accolades and acclaim. And the recently released video for 2 Lines is a beautifully crafted short film that lifts an already beguiling song to a new level.

Despite being a nascent band NeverMind are on a well-deserved ascendance thanks to superbly polished production values, an incredibly professional attitude and a surfeit of musical skill. With luck a full album will appear in short order but in the meantime enjoy Wide-Eyed and keep your eye on four exceptionally talented ladies who are already making a substantial impact in the world of music.

NeverMind’s website can be found here and Wide-Eyed can be purchased on iTunes here.

Popular and White On White is association with Shatterjapan are hosting a FREE PUSSY RIOT fundraiser at Hoxton Square Bar & Kitchen on Sunday 9th September.

Featuring Peggy Sue, Skinny Girl Diet, Neurotic Mass Movement, She Makes War, New Young Pony Club (DJ), Esben And The Witch (DJ), Night Works (DJ), Vuvuvultures (DJ), Zoetrope (DJ) + more.
With speakers including Kerry McCarthy MP, Penny Arcade, Lisa Gornick, Pratibha Parmar + more tba.

More info here

Free Pussy Riot fundraiser

Shot in South London in March 2012 on Canon 7D.

Directed by Laura Kidd. DOP, Edit & Grading – Jamie Worsfold. Hair & Makeup – Robyn Coyne. Malevolent Spirit – Milly McGregor. Red bow – Lex Wood

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club BandDid you know that “Strawberry Fields Forever” and “Penny Lane” were recorded during the sessions for “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band”? The songs were left off the album as The Beatles usually did not include songs released as singles on their British albums. George Martin later said he regretted the exclusion.

What if “Strawberry Fields Forever” and “Penny Lane” had been included on “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band”? What would the running order have been? What tracks would have been excluded?

I’ve never been the biggest fan of “Fixing a Hole”, “She’s Leaving Home” or “When I’m Sixty-Four” so they were the ones to go to make room for the two additions. Plus I’ve put “All You Need Is Love” after “A Day in the Life”. After the crescendo and randomness at the climax of the latter track it ends the album on an optimistic note.

Original running order
Side one
1. “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band”
2. “With a Little Help from My Friends”
3. “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds”
4. “Getting Better”
5. “Fixing a Hole”
6. “She’s Leaving Home”
7. “Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!”

Side two
1. “Within You Without You”
2. “When I’m Sixty-Four”
3. “Lovely Rita”
4. “Good Morning Good Morning”
5. “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)”
6. “A Day in the Life”

My running order
Side one
1. “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band”
2. “With a Little Help from My Friends”
3. “Strawberry Fields Forever”
4. “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds”
5. “Getting Better”
6. “Fixing a Hole”
7. “Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!”

Side two
1. “Within You Without You”
2. “Penny Lane”
3. “Good Morning Good Morning”
4. “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)”
5. “A Day in the Life”
6. “All You Need Is Love”

None of that “difficult second album syndrome” for She Makes War as Little Battles delivers 15 tracks of diverse and experimental music imparted with confidence and passion across 48 minutes in a triumphantly polished package. This is unquestionably my favourite album of recent months and stands heads and shoulders above disappointing high-profile material such as Coldplay’s Mylo Xyloto.

Dubbed by the BBC as a member of The Twitter Elite alongside internationally acclaimed writer Neil Gaiman, She Makes War is the solo project of vocalist and multi-instrument performer Laura Kidd and with Little Battles she maintains the high production values established with debut album Disarm (which I enthused about here). At every stage of the production process Laura has given her all to this album. Even the loss of a day in the studio due to the London Riots wasn’t able to dampen Laura’s enthusiasm. Seriously, this girl works too bloody hard! Even the cover by Marnie Pitts is a gorgeous piece of artistry that deserves to hang in a gallery as a work of art on its own merit.

She Makes War - Little Battles cover art © Marnie Pitts

She Makes War - Little Battles cover art © Marnie Pitts

Whilst a picture may be worth a thousand words, music can produce up a veritable pinacotheca within the mind and Little Battles conjures up thousands of vistas and tales to amuse and entertain the listener. If released on vinyl the album could easily have one side labelled Exuberance and the other Introspection. It’s impossible not to love an album that includes the surreal lyrics of “We are homesick space stations” in Done and Said and creates a new genre of music with electronic a capella in Delete. Each and every listener will have their own favourites amongst the material that Laura has manifested but for my own part three tracks speak to me the most – one in a very personal manner.

In This Boat brings to mind the shipwreck caused by Prospero at the opening of William Shakespeare’s The Tempest and numerous forms of Shakespearian shenanigans. Any song that puts one in mind of the Bard is a winner in my book. Each and every repeat listening of May Our Daughters Return Home further evokes the imagery of a neon lit US metropolis streaked with blood and under the thrall of a serial killer with proceedings orchestrated by David Lynch. Imagine Dirty Harry crossed with Zodiac and remade with a “Lynchian” verve and mentality and this is the perfect accompanying piece. The lyrics of Exit Strategy speak to me deeply about my ongoing mental health issues and help empower me to continue with daily existence…


Little Battles is released on 9 April with an accompanying “Album Launch Extravaganza” at The Half Moon Pub in Herne Hill, London on 11 April. Further details on the launch event and how to order the album can be found at the She Makes War website. Be kind to yourself in this age of uncertainty and immerse yourself in the musical output of this talented, generous, and unique musician.

Keep Calm and Carry OnDon’t think twice, it’s all right.
Bob Dylan, American musician and songwriter, “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right”